Choose Year - Search News - Latest News


City a different class

Derry City   6   Kildare County    0

County exited the Ford FAI cup at the hands of a far superior Derry City side at the Brandywell.

City led Leading 3-0 at the break, and things look ominous for County even at this stage and the tally could have been greater but for a couple of fine stops by keeper Austin O’Neill. Stephen Kenny’s side had an abundance of pace on the wings and the used the huge pitch at the Brandywell to full advantage as they fired in crosses almost at will.

The Thoroughbreds needed to hold the Premier Division side out early on but that did not happen as the home side forged ahead after just seven minutes. Niall McGinn picked the ball up in midfield, rounded Colin Murray and fired in a low cross, leaving Thomas Stewart with the simplest of tasks.

It was 2-0 to the Candystripes in the thirteenth minute when Clieve Delaney rose above the County defence to give Austin O’Neill no chance with a powerful header from Kevin Deery’s right wing cross.

City’s third arrived on the half hour when Delaney notched his second when he slotted home Eddie McCallion’s cross at the back post.

John Ryan introduced Eoin Kavanagh for Dave O’Connell at the break. Colin Osbourne slotted in alongside Glen Walsh in the centre of defence, with Craig Mooney dropping back on the right to aid the defence.

These changes worked well with Osbourne proving that centre back is his best position and although Derry did create some chances they failed to add to their tally until ten minutes from the end. In the meantime Ciaran Kilduff, Ger Robinson, Barry Slattery and County’s best player Colin Fortune laboured in vain to create any clearcut chances against a solid Derry defence.

City’s fourth arrived when Craig Mooney lost the ball to Thomas Stewart while pressing forward and Stewart outpaced the County defence to beat O’Neill. Two goals by substitute Mark Farren in the final five minutes completed a miserable night for County and underlined the vast gap in class between full time set ups at the top end of the premier division and those struggling at the other end of the first.

County: O’Neill, Colin Osbourne, Colin Murray (Eoin Powderly 85), Glen Walsh, David O’Connell (Owen Kavanagh 46), Craig Mooney, Colin Fortune, Barry Stattery, Greg Kilkenny, Ger Robinson (Trevor Bowers 80), Ciaran Kilduff. Subs not used David Vickery, Issaka Baba, Charlie Treacy, Tom Morgan.



Choose Year - Search News - Latest News